Hi everyone!  We pray you had a blessed week, and for your safety during the coming hurricane and storm.

We’re leading off with prayer requests in this post, followed by reflections from last week.  May it be a blessing to you!

Prayer requests for this week and the weeks ahead:

1.  Two tests are scheduled for Wednesday, 10/30 of this week:  an MRV and an aquaduct flow study.  These tests are hopeful for determining additional information regarding the cyst, as well as identifying any issues with brain fluid retention or exchange.

2.  Appointment with a neurosurgeon at OSU Medical Center on Monday, 11/12, to further evaluate my symptoms, test results and previous MRI films.

3.  Prayers for strength, endurance, and faith in God’s daily portion to enable us to keep pressing on with work and ministry.

4.  Continued wisdom for future decisions regarding treatment.

5.  Momentum in ministry, as God is doing some awesome things, and answering some long-term prayers, through this unexpected season of health issues!  We are planning forward for 2013 and are expectant!

Reflections from last week………

Some days are just like that.  You sprint, meander or crawl your way to Jesus’ feet.  You just know you need to get there, whatever it takes.  And on the days when you cannot muster up even the remotest ounce of strength to drag yourself into the presence of the Savior, God uses people in your life to get you there.  Even if it requires cutting a hole in the roof and lowering you on a mat.

Or sending a text, making a phone call, sending an email, or saying a prayer.

Just when you need it, His love will come down.

Luke 5:17-20 says,

One day Jesus was teaching, and Pharisees and teachers of the law were sitting there. They had come from every village of Galilee and from Judea and Jerusalem. And the power of the Lord was with Jesus to heal the sick. Some men came carrying a paralyzed man on a mat and tried to take him into the house to lay him before Jesus. When they could not find a way to do this because of the crowd, they went up on the roof and lowered him on his mat through the tiles into the middle of the crowd, right in front of Jesus.  When Jesus saw their faith, he said, ‘Friend, your sins are forgiven.’

I am inexpressibly thankful for the friends – sisters – whom God has put in my life to carry me to Jesus when my weary self can’t seem to find the way to Him on my own.

Last week was incredibly challenging.  After a four-day run of feeling well (extreme fatigue without  excruciating head pain and pressure, vertigo and confusion among other symptoms means feeling well these days), I found myself making the descent from the physically peaceful mountain back down into the dark valley by Tuesday evening.  By Thursday, all my symptoms were back with a vengeance to the point of requiring me to leave post-it notes around my work cubicle and in my car in an attempt to stay focused on the task at hand and the tasks to come that this girl whose memory has always been sharp-as-a-tack was seemingly forgetting with each passing moment.  Usually one to maintain my composure, especially in less than ideal surroundings, I found myself in a weepy heap at my desk, alternating between wiping tears, trying to piece together words to craft an email, and maintaining some semblance of composure.  My spirit cried out, “Lord, I am so overwhelmed!  I haven’t even slowed down for one day to process all of this, and I just can’t keep it together anymore.  I need a break.  I am just done.  I can’t do this.”

At that very moment, one of my mat carriers sent me a text saying I was on her heart at that very moment, and she inquired how I was doing that particular day.  Coincidence?  Not a chance.  Divine timing?  Absolutely!  My quick reply was countered with encouragement and a texted prayer that challenged my desperate disposition, followed by her email with a link to Kari Jobe’s song “Love Came Down”, which was like a soothing balm to my soul.  God does see my pain, He does see my tears, and even greater than this, He sees the overarching plan for my life of which this current season is a vital component.  Though temporarily painful, this season is intended for long-term good.  At that moment, through His servant – my dear friend – His love indeed came down.

Minutes later I received another email from a different mat carrier, gushing about what the Lord is doing in her heart through her study of His Word, and how the lessons He is teaching her through the book of James are also meant for me and Greg.  Her honest dialogue, questions and prayers fortified my spirit and encouraged me to press on.

I could continue on for days about the impeccable timing of the Lord through the mat carriers in my life during this season, the women of God whom through their daily submission and decision to abide in communion with Him as best they can from moment to moment are being used by Him to significantly impact my life at the very precise minute that I need a response from the Lord.  Their close harmony with the Lord on a daily basis provides them the ability to discern when and how He is speaking to them to pray, text, call, and lower the mat to Jesus on my behalf.  Truly, I have been given treasures of untold wealth in these beautiful women with whom I have the privilege of doing life together.

Ladies, you know who you are.  Some of you I’ve known for decades and others a few short years, though time is no indicator of kinship of the heart.  My love for each one of you grows deeper by the day!  A lifetime of gratitude would hardly scratch the surface of the depth of blessing you have brought to my life and the measure of joy with which my soul has been enriched.  God is using you to provide the daily portion I so desperately need, so don’t ever question if He is using you to accomplish His kingdom agenda.  He undoubtedly is.  I’m living proof!

Thank you for being my mat carrier.  Not only are you God’s expression of love to me from heaven, but when you honor Him by serving me, He takes notice and says, “Yes, through you, My love came down!”

“Love Came Down” – Kari Jobe

If my heart is overwhelmed
And I cannot hear Your voice
I hold on to what is true
Though I cannot see

If the storms of life they come
And the road ahead gets steep
I will lift these hands in faith
I will believe

I’ll remind myself
Of all that You’ve done
And the life I have
Because of Your son

(Chorus)
Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours
Lord I’m forever Yours
Mountains high or valley low
I sing out and remind my soul
I am Yours
I am forever Yours

When my heart is filled with hope
Every promise comes my way
When I feel Your hands of grace
Rest upon me

Staying desperate for You, God
Staying humble at Your feet
I will lift these hands in praise
I will believe

I’ll remind myself
Of all that You’ve done
And the life I have
Because of Your son

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours
I am forever Yours
Mountains high or valley low
I sing out and remind my soul
I am Yours
I am forever Yours

I am Yours
I am Yours
All my days
Jesus, I am Yours

Love came down and rescued me
Love came down and set me free
I am Yours
I am forever Yours
Mountains high or valley low
I sing out and remind my soul
I am Yours
I am forever Yours

Yeah, I am yours, I’m yours, I am yours
Jesus I am yours

 

